Eyelet Scarf Tutorial – 2. Understanding the pattern

DSC00001Woof and welcome!

Today is a beautiful but cold day, perfect for making a scarf!

So have you got all your things together and downloaded the pattern? If not go to 1. Getting Ready for the details.

Let’s read through the pattern and make sure we understand it before we start.

The first page contains the photo of the finished scarf and all the items you need in order to make the scarf, we have already covered this.

The second page contains diagram 1: Overview of the scarf. Let’s look at that first. It is a stretched out picture of the whole scarf in color.Pattern BEG001 diagram 1

As you can see the top the scarf starts with 2 rows of eyelets then a section of solid scarf. This pattern is then repeated 6 more times. And then 2 more rows of eyelets are added at the end. That makes a total of 8 sets of eyelets.

There are 3 colors. The scarf has 3 sets of eyelets in the first color, 2 sets in the second color and 3 sets of eyelets in the third color.

So let’s take a closer look at what is going on.

  • The Foundation Chain is the number of chain stitches we make to start, it also tells us how wide the project is going to be, which in this case is 18 stitches.
  • The pattern is made in Rows going back and forth. You always work right to left. So when you finish a Row you turn it over and crochet back across the row you did before. To remind us the pattern says turn at the end of each row.
  • All the odd rows, starting with Row 1, are rows of double crochet (dc) stitches and this includes the rows with eyelets.
  • All the even rows, starting with Row 2, are of single crochet (sc) stitches
  • The first row of eyelets takes place in Row 3, an odd row and therefor a dc row. The pattern for this is two stitches of dc followed by 2 ch stitches which make one eyelet, followed by 2 dc, followed by 2 ch etc. All up there are 4 eyelets in the row.
  • Everything else in the pattern is about mixing and matching these 3 types of Rows. So really you only need to know these three things.

That doesn’t sound too woof …. I mean hard, does it!?

Now let’s look at Diagram 2: The Chart for pattern Row 1-17.

Although this chart is hand written, the symbols are international. This means you can learn them and follow patterns in other languages as well.

Pattern BEG001 diagram 2

We start reading the chart at the bottom – at the foundation chain.

Row 1 has 3 turning ch, which we shall talk about later, followed by a row of double crochet (dc)

Row 2 has 1 turning ch then a row of  single crochet (sc)

Row 3 has 3 turning ch followed by  2 dc and 2 ch which makes the eyelet pattern.

As you can see every other line is one of these 3. And mostly we keep alternating a row of sc with dc until we have 17 rows.

So what happens after that?

We repeat Row 1-17 6 more times.

Then at the very end, we copy Row 2-9, which you can see on the diagram means:

1 row of sc

1 row of eyelets and dc

1 row of sc

1 row of dc

1 row of sc

1 row of eyelets and dc

1 row of sc

1 row of dc

And that is it!!

So tomorrow we’ll start making a sample square to practice the fabric pattern. How excitement is that?

Until then…. Woof!

Olive paw 2OLIVE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s